A Sense of Accomplishment

Do you ever get those questions that you are not sure how to answer because your answer will tell the world a little bit more about you?

I do.

I hate them. With. a. passion.

Don’t get me wrong – I enjoy sharing my passions/interests/experiences with people but if people have never seen that side of me before it feels awkward to share that. I am also irked if I don’t have an explanation for why I enjoy the things I do. Here are a few questions that got me thinking awhile ago:

If you were a professor, what type of class would you teach?

What magazine subscriptions do you enjoy the most?

What sport would you coach?

Some people will tell me that I enjoy x, y, or z because it brings me pleasure. Well that’s great – I sure hope I don’t continually do something without receiving pleasure from it. But what I really want to know is the ‘why.’

Why do I find it fun to complete DIY projects?

Why do I enjoy making food from scratch when it is much easier to buy it prepackaged?

Tonight, I got a little closer to learning my ‘why.’ I found a delicious, out-of-this-world, go-make-it-now homemade chocolate syrup. In keeping my take on the title, I made it tonight.

After it was done I couldn’t help but feel a sense of accomplishment. As I licked the whisk dry taste tested it, I was even more proud of how it tasted (it’s hard to screw up a recipe that easy though, haha) and that I finally made homemade chocolate syrup. (Hopefully this means I can stop buying Nesquik for TW…)

So there we have it folks – part of the reason I engage in DIY/make food from scratch is because I feel a sense of accomplishment afterwords. And -it generally taste good or looks cute 🙂

Be sure to check out the recipe for this homemade chocolate syrup!

Leave a comment