Spaghetti Bread

TW and I love – love – love bread. I’m particular about my bread and won’t eat just any (because let me be honest, if I am going to consumer those delicious carbs then I want them to taste a.m.a.z.i.n.g.). Thus, I prefer the artisan loafs and he prefers any bread.

Random confession: We try not to keep bread in our pantry because we will eat it within 24 hours. We rarely have pasta in our pantry too. Eek!

Now back to the original intent of this, tonight I decided to make ‘Braided Spaghetti Bread.’ The original recipe can be found here. This recipe would be good as is {or so I assume because you can’t go wrong with the combo} but I decided to change a few  things so that it fit my preferences.

I omitted the spaghetti noodles (an easy way to cut carbs). I used thawed meatballs (recipe from Pioneer Woman) that TW made a few weeks ago. I also made marinara sauce and used this recipe as a base. I later added garlic salt, garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, and red pepper flakes (all rough estimates).

Confession 2: I rarely measure things – I just throw in a little to start with, taste test, and add more until I like it. This recipe will not give you exact measurements – so think of this as an opportunity to be daring and find what works for you.

My Ingredients:
1 loaf thawed Rhodes White Bread
2-3 cups meat sauce (rough estimate since I didn’t measure this)
4 oz chopped provolone cheese (Parmesan would be good too!)
1 tablespoon butter
garlic salt

My steps:
I) Roll the bread loaf onto a stone baking sheet until it is a  large rectangle size.
2) Melt butter in a ramekin and added garlic salt to it.
3) Spread a little onto the  bread.
4) Add half of the cheese in the middle of the bread.
5) Add the meat mixture on top of the cheese.
6) Top with rest of cheese.
7) After it’s filled, cut slits into the outer sides of the bread (see original recipe for great pictures!)
8) After slits are made, “braid” the bread together.
9) Once braided, brush on the remaining butter/garlic salt mixture and added cheese (if desired).
10) Cook for 30 minutes @ 350 degrees.

It was pretty good but I’m not sure if I would make it again. And honestly it’s because of the carbs. They just were not worth it for this meal. Maybe you’ll like it though!

Leave a Reply

